History & Organization

In 1939 Tennessee authorized the formation of Soil Conservation Districts (Districts) when the legislators passed the Soil Conservation District Act into Law. By 1945 Tennessee landowners had successfully petitioned the state for the charter of nearly 30 Districts. Discussions among these early Districts led to the formation of an association for Districts. In August of 1945 the Tennessee Association of Conservation Districts (TACD), then called the Tennessee Association of Soil Conservation Districts, held its first official meeting. W. F. Fletcher of the Haywood Soil Conservation District served as TACD's first President. Over the next 14 years Districts continued to organize in Tennessee until the last District was chartered in 1959.

TACD was created by Districts for Districts and is governed by Tennessee's 95 Districts and the 475 men and women who serve on the District boards. TACD is officially registered as a not-for-profit corporation through the Tennessee Secretary of State. The association is divided into three divisions; East, Middle, and West Tennessee. Each division is divided into 3 areas. TACD's Articles of Association provide for Officers and Directors consisting of a President, a Vice President, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and a Council Member to the National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD). Each Division has a Vice President and each Area has a Director and two Vice-Directors. TACD has an Executive Director hired as its consultant.

The mission of TACD is: Helping Soil Conservation Districts conserve and enhance the natural resources of Tennessee through education, leadership and advocacy.

Some of the objectives of TACD are:

  • To advance the programs of Soil Conservation Districts;
  • To promote the welfare of the people of Tennessee through the work of Soil Conservation Districts;
  • To develop citizen participation and leadership in the affairs of Soil Conservation Districts;
  • To encourage cooperation among Districts and Local, State and Federal agencies;
  • To promote education and information about soil and water conservation;
  • To encourage the exchange of information and promote cooperation among Districts;
  • To promote effective organization and management of Soil Conservation Districts; and
  • To develop and recommend legislative proposals as needed to promote and enhance the conservation of Tennessee's soil and water resources.

    TACD encourages every SCD supervisor, SCD employee, state and federal employees, interested landowners and other professionals to actively participate in TACD programs and initiatives to expand their ability to protect Tennessee's abundant natural resources through the local Soil Conservation District and to assist in making our Association even more successful in the future.

Articles of the Association

Officers and Directors

Officers and Directors

Tennessee Association of Conservation Districts
Officers & Directors




First Year 


 Term Ends

 President  Jim Bledsoe Fentress 2019   Jamestown, TN 38556  
 Vice President  Kirk Daniel  Tipton 2019 Covington, TN 38019  
 Secretary  Elaine Watkins  Tipton 2018   Covington, TN 38019  
 Treasurer  Donna Kitts  Grainger 2015 Bean Station, TN 37708  
 NACD Member  Ray Weaver  Coffee 2016 Estill Springs, TN 37330  

TACD Divisional Vice Presidents

East TN
Vice President
Lynice Broyles Washington  2017 Gray, TN 37615  

Middle TN
Vice President

Darwin Newton Cheatham  2018 Ashland City, TN 37015  
West TN
Vice President
Eric Dupree Crockett  2019 Alamo, TN 38001  

TACD Area Directors

Area I Director Charles Phelps Sullivan  2016 Bluff City, TN 37618 2019 (1st)
Area 1 Vice Director A Mike Saylor Washington  2015 Jonesborough, TN 37618  2021 (1st)
Area 1 Vice Director B John Baskette Hamblen  2014 Talbott, TN 37877  2020 (2nd)
Area II Director Calvin Thompson Knox  2013 Corryton, TN 37721  2019 (2nd)
Area II Vice Director A  Anne Crawford Knox  2012 Mascot, TN 37806  2018 (2nd)
Area II Vice Director B Randy Lowe  Anderson    Andersonville, TN 37705  2020 
Area III Director John Moore Bradley  2015 Cleveland, TN 37321  2021 (2st)
Area III Vice Director A Bill Dailey  Monroe    Englewood, TN 37329  2020 (1st) 
Area III Vice Director B Jesse Hewlett  Hamilton   2013 Chattanooga, TN 37416   2019 (2nd)
Area IV Director Vacant        2021
Area IV Vice Director A  Wayne Moss Putnam  2014 Cookeville, TN 38501  2020 (2nd)
Area IV Vice Director B Larry Storie  Pickett    Pall Mall, TN 38577   2019
Area V Director Larry Hasty Bedford  2018 Unionville, TN 37398  2021 (2nd)
Area V Vice Director A  Gordon Millsaps Moore   Winchester, TN 37398  2020 (1st)
Area V Vice Director B Vacant         2019
Area VI Director Marvin Whitworth Rutherford   Murfreesboro, TN 37128  2018 (1st)
(Area VI Vice Director A Vacant    2014    2020
Area VI Vice Director B  Bennie Daniel Dickson   2013 Charlotte, TN 37036  2019 (2nd) 
Area VII Director Justin Smith Hardeman 2017 Bolivar, TN 38008  2020 (1st)
Area VII Vice Director A  Vacant        2019
Area VII Vice Director B Harris Armour III  Fayette   2012 Somerville, TN 38068   2018 (2nd)
Area Director VIII Robert French Benton  2015 Big Sandy, TN 38221  2021 (2nd)
Area VIII Vice Director A Joel Haynes  Madison   2014 Jackson, TN 38301   2020 (2nd)
Area VIII Vice Director B Vacant         2019
Area IX Director Joe Carmack Lauderdale  2017 Halls, TN 38040  2020 (1st)
Area IX Vice Director A  Carol Cooke Crockett   2013 Crockett Mills, TN 38021  2019 (2nd) 
Area IX Vice Director B  Larry McCoy Lauderdale   2015 Ripley, TN 38063   2018 (1st)

Past Presidents

Past Presidents of the Tennessee Association of Conservation Districts

President County Years of Service
W. F. Fletcher Haywood 1945 - 1946
C. P. Tiffany Montgomery 1947 - 1949
J. Harris Smith Madison 1950 - 1951
W. T. Murphy Wilson 1952 - 1955
John S. Wilder Fayette 1956 - 1961
J. Eldredge Price Hawkins 1961 - 1965
A. K. McCalla Shelby 1966 - 1969
Steve Brunson Fayette 1970 - 1973
Joe Wilson Giles 1974 - 1976
Talmage Crihfield Lauderdale 1977 - 1979
J. B. Napier Maury 1980 - 1984
Joe K. Thomas III Sullivan 1985 - 1989
John Charles Wilson Shelby 1990 - 1993
David Garland Washington 1994 - 1996
Harris Armour Fayette 1997 - 2000
Roy Gillis Washington 2001 - 2006
R. Barry Lake Hardeman 2006 - 2011
Ray Weaver Coffee 2011 - 2017
Kelly Stockton Jackson 2017 - 2018

Enabling Statute